FAQs

The following clarifications are listed to address some confusion that has stemmed from wording in the core rulebook. As always, I endeavor to be as clear and understandable as possible when I write mechanics, but there will inevitably be some confusion that pops up over time. I hope this will help clear up some questions you may have.
Q: Do family bonuses like: “Felidae characters always receive +1 when performing tasks of manual
dexterity or balance.” apply in combat?

A: They were not intended to, no. No family bonus is intended for combat use with the exception of
the avian ability to fly (which still requires Proficiency to use) and the Reptilia ability to resist poisons, which is rather specific to conditions. I could see Guides making
exceptions to this during supportive action checks, as those do represent using one’s skills to assist in operations, but in general these perks were intended for use in a narrative or utility fashion. A canine staying up late to keep watch, or running after a fleeing suspect. A feline rapidly entering data or hopping across slippery rooftops. If attack actions are being used, these bonuses do not apply. This was designed to avoid punishing players in combat for playing the species they want to
play, and to attempt to avoid the “singular combat build” inherent to many systems.

Q: Can you clear up how Nerve loss works in combats with multiple people in mixed armor? It  seems as though as long as one person can be stripped of their armor and killed, the rest of the team will break.
A: That is not the case, but the phrasing of the condition could do with some restructuring. On page
198, the sentence: “A character wearing armor will not take Nerve loss.” Should probably be phrased as “A character wearing armor, alone or in a team, will prevent Nerve Pool loss for themselves or their team.” As long as anyone in the team is immune to Nerve loss, they are all immune (much like a Relentless team member grants the same mentality to the rest of
their team). The team’s Nerve Pool will not deplete until there are no longer members in it who are immune. If the whole team is armored, no one loses Nerve until there is no armor left anywhere (unless someone has an ability that bypasses it somehow). Additionally, the initial Nerve Pool remains at the same size even as people are removed from it by dying. A team with 4 armored people and a total Nerve Pool of 40 will still have a Nerve Pool of 40 if three of its members die and the last one is stripped of armor. That last member will then start losing Nerve
out of the 40 point pool. To use the Nerve system to force enemy surrender, you must strip every enemy of anything that would prevent them from suffering Nerve loss. It is intended to be a difficult and deliberate action requiring player restraint sufficient to knock off an enemy’s  protection without killing them. In most combats against armored opponents, Nerve probably
won’t even be a factor, as chances are enemies will die one at a time while their comrades are still
wearing armor. Character personalities trump this, of course. If someone sees all their armored
friends getting their asses kicked and figures they’re not going to live, they can choose to surrender regardless of the Nerve score.

Q: There is a missing Focus description for Priority
Instructions.
A: Yes there is, I apologize for that. The ability has the following profile:
“You have established a rapport with your party.
They know your voice and trust your judgment. Because
of this, when you issue commands in combat, they pick
up on them when they otherwise might not.

Once per Session: You can use a command action
in combat without rolling any of the associated checks. It
simply goes off. Furthermore, this command affects your
entire party, regardless of their range (provided they’re
on the battlefield and can hear it). The command used
with this ability cannot be used again this combat once
this ability has been used.”
Q: There is a discrepancy between shield sizes for micros listed on page 165 and the size of weapons
listed for them earlier.

A: This is a typo. Shields are two size categories larger for micros, not one. Micros treat a Small shield as a Large shield. In use, this means the shield requires 1 hand, and grants a +3 cover bonus, but still only has 15 hitpoints.
Q: What does having 4 arms do for you?
A: This is largely a logic-based situation. You can carry things with one set while performing actions with another, or type while holding onto a ledge without taking penalties. Typically though, you can’t perform complex actions with both sets. In combat, for instance, you can carry additional weapons with your second set of limbs, but you can only use two arms at a time to fight with. This gives you the benefit of having additional weapons on-hand. Shields and melee weapons are a good choice for this, as they allow a character to move from shooting to melee without having to drop a weapon or draw another one. They also serve as a general “advantage” when in situations where having extra grip is beneficial, such as climbing, hanging, or holding onto someone (assuming
you’re not also trying to hold onto a weapon). In these situations, provided the Guide feels it’s appropriate, you can add an extra die to any applicable rolls.
Q: What is the unit of measure for the 3×3 square in the Nullification implant?
A: In Cuils 1-3, it is inches. This equates to 1d8 damage to a target that ignores their cover bonus(though the target must still be visible). On the 3 Cuil manifestation of this implant, there is a typo. Instead of pulling away 3 3×3 squares, you should be pulling away d8 3×3 squares (hence the rolling of the die in the line above). “Scatters like a grenade” refers to the actual removal action itself. In this situation, center the “grenade” on your target and ignore the usual accuracy
roll. A 7-8 will land on target instead of forcing further deviation. 1-6 will deviate as normal.

Q: The falling damage for micro characters is a little baffling.
A: There is more language here than is necessary for the intended effect. In practice, Micros take the same amount of fall damage as regular Vectors do when falling from the same height. The two references to a difference in damage and starting fall height was an attempt to illustrate that even though Micros fall proportionately further than Vectors from the same height, their small bodies and compact construction effectively counteracts the additional distance as far as the game is concerned.
Q: Is the H-101 Longarm really a LAN weapon?
A: No. Change this weapon’s size to Large. It is, however, a rather sizeable and conspicuous rifle.
Q: Under the new attack action cap, can an Aviale character with Excessive take 4 attack actions per turn if they have 5 points in Mind:Dexterity?
A: No. The cap is 3. Excessive allows Aviale characters to reach that cap before other families.

Q: Do Momentum abilities such as the one listed for Plantigrade/Digitigrade allow you to go past the 3 attack limit?
A: Yes, but it does require a hit with every die rolled in order to trigger, not just a successful hit among misses.
Q: Do Vitae demons ignore the first 10 damage per attack entirely, or to a minimum of 1 like Vitae ports do?
A: This is a typo. They ignore to a minimum of 1 damage as Vitae ports do. An attack that does 13 damage to most enemies will to 3 damage to a Vitae demon (ignoring the first 10). An attack that does 9 damage will do 1 (minimum damage).
Q: Why does the Shrapnel Gun have a Rate of
Fire?
A: This is a typo. The RoF should be -, and the Base damage should be 4 (making the total weapon
damage 6 under the new rules)